History and Purposes

The ASEAN-Japan Centre was established on May 25, 1981 based on the Agreement Establishing the ASEAN Promotion Centre on Trade, Investment and Tourism signed between the governments of the founding member countries of the Association of the Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), namely Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, and Japan. Later on, Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Cambodia, Lao PDR and Myanmar acceded to the Agreement. Now all 10 ASEAN Member States and Japan are members of the Centre.

ASEAN-Japan Centre History

Establishment of the ASEAN-Japan Centre (Founding member countries: Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Japan)
Accession of Brunei Darussalam
Accession of Vietnam
Accession of Cambodia
Accession of Lao PDR
Accession of Myanmar
Expansion of the investment and tourism promotion programs from one-way to two-way
Launch of the 4th mission: exchange of persons
40th anniversary of establishment
Announcement of the mid-term strategic plan “AJC 5.0”
The 50th Year of ASEAN-Japan Friendship and Cooperation
(Establishment of the Commemorative Events Secretariat for the 50th Year of ASEAN-Japan Friendship and Cooperation, and the anniversary website etc.)


  • To promote exports from ASEAN to Japan
  • To accelerate investment flows between ASEAN and Japan
  • To vitalize tourist traffic between ASEAN and Japan
  • To expand exchanges of persons between ASEAN and Japan